In Loving Memory of My Father, Edlin C. Villeses

DSC09180

This is probably going to be the most hardest thing to write about and share with others but it may be the best way to let my feelings and thoughts out…

The month of December hasn’t been easy. My heart still aches, I feel like I am missing a big chunk of my life, I’ve never felt so numb before, I am still in shock and so speechless. I don’t even know where to begin with this…

On December 17, 2014 around 1 pm, my father, Edlin C. Villeses, passed away. After my brother’s birthday 3 days before (December 14, 2014) my dad was admitted to the Lakewood Regional Medical Center due to a cardiac arrest. He was in the hospital for 3 days until all his doctor’s told us he wasn’t responding to anything at all, no chance of making it…

Unfortunately, he has been sick for a while, almost 8 years now. Being diabetic and all the medication treatments that come along with it is no joke. Even though he was sick, he was such a happy man and still busted out jokes like he loved doing. He tried to enjoy his time with his family as much as he could, he NEVER complained even if we asked him, he would always tell us that he was okay with a smile on his face.

DSC08451DSC08995_1DSC09000

Helping to plan the arrangements was so hard and overwhelming. With all of this happening between holidays and the new year, was the hardest of all.

Today marks the 45th day that he has been gone. They say “time heals all wounds” but I’ve been feeling like time just makes it harder and everything worse, I start to think things I shouldn’t and wondering, “why did this happen?“, “where is he now?“, “why did he leave us so soon?” and other thoughts like that. It is just so weird knowing that he is not physically there. I just want to dream about him just to know that he is at peace and lived a happy life but I trust he is as long as I keep praying for him. I know he is now resting with God up in paradise. He is no longer suffering or in pain.

My dad always taught us to love harder, let go of all the anger and hate in your heart and to just have faith in the man up above. I can go on and on about the great memories we all have with him, the memories I personally have with him with my mom, sister and brother.

DSC09160

It’s not easy losing a loved one. This has been the hardest thing I have ever had to deal with and wouldn’t want to wish this on anyone. Luckily, my family and I have a great amount of support from relatives and friends. We are immensely blessed with the love, prayers, donations and support from everyone. Without you guys we wouldn’t of had stayed strong, held our heads high or honor him with a proper burial. So, THANK YOU!

Although we had our moments as father and daughter, I am proud to say we did have a good relationship. I miss him so much and think about him every day. I miss his jokes, his cooking, his smile, his laugh, his quotes (his favorite one being, “don’t underestimate the heart of a champion“), his hugs, his voice, his lectures, HIS PRESENCE. Everything about him.

DSC09142

Yes, life goes on but he will forever be in our hearts and watch over us. I will always hold those happy and good times we shared close to my heart.

DSC09144Photos taken by: My cousin Andrew Cordero

When someone tells you that time is precious and you never know what will happen tomorrow, believe them. Love like there’s no tomorrow and cherish every moment, do it. Don’t take your loved ones for granted, just don’t.

REST IN PEACE DAD. I LOVE YOU!!!!!
IN LOVING MEMORY OF EDLIN C. VILLESES

IMG_2711 copy

Peace & Love,
Kristina Marie

 

One thought on “In Loving Memory of My Father, Edlin C. Villeses

Leave a Reply

